How to be more Happy……

Do you think that is grass is greener on the other side and what you have is just a bunch of scrap strewn around your lawn? Is thinking so, wrong??

Well, I think so too, and I don’t find anything wrong in it. My life is messed up as of now. I have a thousand things going around in my head but don’t know what to do about them. I wish I could do this, I wish I could that, I wish I could own that Royal Enfield when it passes my way again, Ohh, I wish so much, I wish the grass could be greener on my side too!

So now that you have started thinking, what do you do about it? Do you just think and envy those on the other side of the fence.


 Envy is the art of counting the other fellow’s blessings instead of your own. -Harold Coffin 

Now when I say, I want to own the Royal Enfield that doesn’t mean I envy the guy riding it. Yes, I am jealous because I don’t own it yet but I am not jealous because he has it. He owns it, good for him (that shouldn’t make a difference to me), but I own it! (Now, that is what I should really care about) When you want to be successful you pray, let me succeed, but don’t pray, let others fail!

Jealousy is both reasonable and belongs to reasonable men, while envy is base and belongs to the base, for the one makes himself get good things by jealousy, while the other does not allow his neighbour to have them through envy. -Aristotle 

Jealousy is good but don’t let that turn into envy. Draw inspiration from it, channelize your energies. It’s not about why is the grass greener on the other side, but how do you make the grass greener on your own side. It’s about how you turn your dreams into reality.

 Thinking about others and wallowing in self-pity is not going to get you anywhere. Don’t like the barren piece of land you live on? Then go ahead and change it. Be it changing your present condition, changing your attitude, being happy with what you have or making the most of the things you got! It’s your Life, make it your own! If you wanta garden thenyou got to work for it baby.

Few suggestions to help you turn your grass greener, if you are clueless and just need help starting up.


 Assess Your Abilities.

There are things which you do and things you think you can do. Try out as many things as you want. You think you can cook, paint, sing, dance, write, but never tried it, go ahead give yourself a chance.

Be aware of yourself.

Don’t Envy Others.

You know you can dance really well, but can’t cook, but wish you could learn how to do it. Now that is no reason to envy others who can cook well. Go ahead, take help from those who can cook, why make an enemy when you can gain a friend!

Have an Aim, Work Hard For It.

You start of well, but when failure beckons, don’t give up, start again. If you want the grass greener, then you are supposed to water, feed and care for the saplings, only then will they give you the fruits you desire.


Understand What Makes YOU Happy.

There is no standard rule, as to, your grass is this green that means you are this percent successful, this percent happy or wealthy! It’s about what YOU want. Pursue your dreams. Making money is important, but that tiny little voice inside you which likes to do other things as well, don’t let that voice ever die.

As for me, I am no longer pitying myself, I write, I sketch, I go out, I smile more often, there is this sense of satisfaction which I am relishing and yes I am also working hard and saving up, to own the Royal Enfield…..

Author: vn96

Can get curious on anything, anytime, anywhere....

Leave a Reply

